Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    22,581

    Pointless Strava Segments...

    I was thinking about this after a ride in the forest...and wondering if it is endemic in Strava.

    The sort of examples:

    Red run from the tree but with the left bend.
    Between the two trees.
    Between the other two trees.
    Slightly uphill bit too fast for Dave.
    Red run 1st Downhill.
    Red run 1st Downhill slightly longer.
    Red run 1st DH start from red run start.

    What is the point of these stupid overlapping segments? totally clutters everything up in my eyes.

    Endeth my rant.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Nobby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Pub
    Posts
    32,796
    There are segs on some local routes to me that I ride on a regular basis which often register as something different - I think it's down to the GPS performance or data. For instance, there's a couple on the same road- one is 'full' and the other 'short'. It is impossible to do the former without also doing the latter yet Strava often only shows one of them.

    Also, there's at least two that were set up by a mate which didn't show up as anything on his ride page but after he created them it showed at least one other on each segment he created. :-/

  3. #3
    Senior Member Stan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    14,261
    Strava's much more helpful for road riding, and recording your own times up relevant segments tbh. I ignore the rest.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    22,581
    Quote Originally Posted by Stan View Post
    ...and recording your own times up relevant segments tbh. I ignore the rest.
    That's pretty much my point it's increasingly difficult to sort through the Wheat from the Chaff especially on popular hill climbs where there are often two or three segments, or even segments inside segments.

    It's almost as if there need to be segment administrators who can moderate the number of segments in any given area...if it goes on at this rate there will be segments in segments of segmentsą!

    I've never known how I can be KOM in on one loop but 3rd in the other for what should be exactly the same route...almost as if like nobby says the GPS takes a bit of a wobbly.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Stan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    14,261
    I believe you can choose to hide the segments.....

Similar Threads

  1. Strava BM club
    By David Arthur in forum Riding
    Replies: 69
    Last Post: 06-03-14, 13:41
  2. Strava/Endomondo/Garmin Connect
    By MLR in forum Riding
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-08-12, 18:13
  3. Uploading from a Bryton to Strava
    By Neil Helks in forum Soapbox
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17-05-12, 16:01
  4. Can you remove a Strava segment ?
    By Neil Helks in forum Riding
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-04-12, 11:37
  5. Do you Strava?
    By David Arthur in forum Riding
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 27-03-12, 15:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •