PDA

View Full Version : formatting slave drives within XP PRO to correct size?



MrD
18-12-03, 16:57
building a pc up for a friend, it's got an 8.5gig master and 17gig slave.i fitted and installed everything and then stuck the slave in. when i format the slave by right clicking on drive in my computer and select format, it is formatting the slave to 8.5gig!!!!what do i need to do?

Charlie T (International Man of Leisure)
18-12-03, 16:58
Wibble?

Ste : )
18-12-03, 16:58
go make a cup of tea

Hoot of the Smoot
18-12-03, 16:59
CTRL-ALT-Delete?

Combat Wombat
18-12-03, 17:00
right click on the slave instead

MrD
18-12-03, 17:01
i did right click on the slave!!!!!!!!!!! when i format the slave by right clicking on drive in my computer and select format, "and my frigging kettle died and i can't make a cuppa, everyhtings going wrong for me :("

Combat Wombat
18-12-03, 17:02
take it to the doctor with you

MrD
18-12-03, 17:03
the kettle?whats he gonna do, give it prozac, lol!

SloBoy - Cakes or Pies ?
18-12-03, 17:03
'king 'ellCan we have some of the STW moderators in here please to stop some of this aberrant abuse of this facility ?

MrD
18-12-03, 17:04
come on, techie questions intermingled with comedy. what abuse are we talking about!!!!

Ste : )
18-12-03, 17:04
get a mallet..........

The Art of Training Without Training
18-12-03, 17:04
WOW did anyone else just see the red arrows go over??OR just me who had a fly-by reading MR D's question!sorry can't help.

Ste : )
18-12-03, 17:04
what floor are you on?

MrD
18-12-03, 17:05
i can't find my hammer, so thats out

Combat Wombat
18-12-03, 17:05
going up

MrD
18-12-03, 17:07
come on somebody. i've got maybe half an hour to get the answer to this before i go to work. i am presently packing files with winrar to carry a game round for my kids after. gotta go when the ping goes off.ping!

The Art of Training Without Training
18-12-03, 17:08
Have you tried swearing nad generally ranting at the pc??

MrD
18-12-03, 17:09
i'm not sure it's safe to get upset. it might get scared, curl up in a ball and leak fluids

Combat Wombat
18-12-03, 17:13
have you chosen the file structure NTFS?

Ancient Mariner
18-12-03, 17:15
Good point - can you FAT32 it instead? Or partition it into 2 X 8.5 Gig?

MrD
18-12-03, 17:16
yesit was in the fat32 format. i could change the file system to ntfs but couldn't change the gig size. theres are byte allocation options, but i don't know stuff about them

Combat Wombat
18-12-03, 17:19
just allocate loads more bytesyou might be able to add a sillyly huge number and it will say that you are only allowed a certain ammount. then enter that certain number.

MrD
18-12-03, 17:24
i have selected maximum byte allocation units, but to no avail

Combat Wombat
18-12-03, 17:25
whats the prob now?

MrD
18-12-03, 17:33
still 8.5 gigmight go into DOS with a startup disc and remove the DOS partition, reformat, and replace partition. that might do it. or try and download Partition Magic from some torrent site.

Dave Carlson
18-12-03, 21:21
You can add and remove partitions from within the Disc management tool. For some reason your partition must have set itself to 8.5GB. Either delete the partition and start again, or use partition magic to resize it. I could email you a version of it if you want, but it's about 50MB, so it might take a while...

James Findley
18-12-03, 21:48
in computer management (right click on my computer, manage) there is a disk management util that will show the status of the drive. if the drive has for some reason been formatted with a 8.5gig partition, then you will be able to make a second, or delete the first and start again. if the drive shows 8.5gig in disk mangement, check the jumper settings on the hd

PIG 'apparently a poof'
18-12-03, 22:23
I've just come up with an idea that is pure genious. Not really to do with this thread, but reminded me. Ta

andypandypoos ©1978
18-12-03, 22:46
How old is the pc? There have been several limits on the size of a single partition in the past, 8.5GB being one of them. You might be able to sort it with a BIOS update, if not just create 2 8.5GB partitions. Info:http://www.win.tue.nl/~aeb/linux/Large-Disk-4.html